By  June 25, 2019 - 12:00am

An administrative transition team has been named to assist Laura Stephenson, who will begin her term as associate dean and director of Cooperative Extension on Aug. 1. The team will assist with the many initiatives that will be undertaken in the weeks and months ahead including budgeting, a structural reorganization and implementation of the community needs assessments.

The administrative transition team includes:

  • Kim Henken, team coordinator, acting director of the School of Human Environmental Sciences
  • Nick Carter, county and local government relations director
  • Mia Farrell, interim director of Diversity
  • Jennifer Hunter, assistant director of Family and Consumer Sciences
  • David Kessler, Extension philanthropy director
  • Mark Mains, assistant director of 4-H Youth Development
  • Stacy Miller, Extension personnel/human resources director
  • Chris Shotwell, business operations director
  • Laura Skillman, Agricultural Communications Services director
  • Tim West, chief of staff and associate general counsel
  • Craig Wood, interim assistant director of Agriculture and Natural Resources
  • Gary Palmer, who has served as interim director for the past two years, will serve in an advisory role

This is one more step in the College of Agriculture, Food and Environment’s ongoing efforts to provide the best leadership and fiscal management for a system that is indispensable to communities across Kentucky.

In the coming weeks, additional transition teams will be named consisting of county agents and specialists to address programmatic matters and other issues specific to their positions.

Thanks to everyone for your hard work and continued dedication as we work to make the Cooperative Extension System the best it can be.